March 23, 2009 01:39 AM AKDT


Start of event: March 23, 2009 09:39 UTC
(March 23, 2009 01:39 AM AKDT)

Lightning Mapping Data

An animation of the lightning sequence:

These plots actually show a series of two explosive events. According to seismic data, the times of the first and second explosions were 09:39 UTC (01:39 AM AKDT) and 09:48 UTC (01:48 AM AKDT). Both explosions sent plumes up to about 12.1 km in altitude. There was a phase of amorphous and random activity directly over the vent following the onset of each explosion. The first phase began at roughly 09:41:40 UTC, almost 3 minutes after the official start of the explosion. This activity had a duration of about 2.5 minutes. The second phase of amorphous activity began at roughly 09:53:50 and only persisted for one minute or less.

Clam Gulch Station

All Stations